top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHitarth Diwan

Story Writing - The Miserable Past

I remember when this song played in the background in my brother’s room. He loved this game very much, as I remember today when he was discussing all sorts of buildings with friends all over the room. It was 2011, and he always ran into my room with a request to launch this game. And when he walked away, a pleasant melody played in the background.


Or when I first decided to play this game with my brother; we broke trees, while he was building a house and mining coal. When at night, instead of sleeping, we ran to kill zombies together. I hope he had fun playing with me.


When he needed to go to bed, I read him tales under which he fell asleep. As I remember today, he fell asleep and this song played on the computer.


I constantly picked him up for school hugging him at the end. And after school I constantly came for him. He ran into me, shouting my name and jumping into my arms. We spent every day together, driving through parks, riding on the rides. I tried to devote as much time to him as possible. I really loved him.


In 2012, when he was crossing the road, wearing his new shoes, he stopped in the middle of the road to adjust his feet. A car hit him to death. He died two days before his 8th Birthday.


Three days after the death of my brother, my dad faced a terrible loss in his business. We had become victims of poverty. We had to sell everything we had, and started a shoe business. We now live in a slum, with nothing but a bunch of dirty torn clothes, a small shelter, a small shoe business, garbage food, and a diary and a pen. Today, we kept my brother’s shoes in the shop. “Baby Shoes: For Sale, Never Worn”. I hope these shoes don’t become the reason for the death of someone else’s brother too, because I know how it feels.


To this day, I remember my brother’s pleasant childhood laugh that made me laugh too. He probably wasn’t destined to face this severe poverty. I write this trying to hold my tears, but remembering his voice and angelic smile, the tears come out on their own.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ALONE

bottom of page